How Their Silence Diminishes Us

Dear [REDACTED],

I’ve started this letter too many times. A few weeks ago, we stood at opposite ends of a small apartment. I’m new to being part of gatherings like this, so I watched warily from the sidelines of the pong game. Your opponent messed up, and you stood a little taller and spoke a little louder: “What the fuck is wrong with you, man? What is this, a state school?” Nobody reacted to that. Nobody reacted later when you made a joke about scholarship kids. Nobody reacted again when word spread of you scrolling through our current student website to laugh at where people went for undergrad. Nobody said a thing.

Have you ever been hungry? There are different ways to starve. When the fridge is empty and your mom won’t fill it because she won’t be a “welfare abuser”—that’s starving. That’s when you learn there such a thing as being too poor. Maybe that’s the first time I felt class shame, when it was better to be hungry than to need help. I felt that way again standing across from you. Maybe I could have walked it off if the feeling stayed there, in that room, but it didn’t. I heard you in the silence of my friends, my colleagues. I heard you when I called my mom later that week to talk about my thesis, and she told me she didn’t understand why I kept working so hard. She says I’ve already proved myself. She says I came from nothing and made myself something.

I’m something because I did well enough in high school, better in community college, and really good in undergrad. I read as if the books could fill my empty stomach, and I learned how to assimilate myself into an educated middle-class. I stopped wearing flannels and camouflage, and I only mentioned my hometown as the punchline for a joke. I wanted to be someone important, not just a kid from the middle of nowhere, not nothing.

There’s a secret whispered throughout the hidden curriculum, and it’s that you must pick a side. So I burnt down my own history. As Matthew Ferrence says, people like me have a choice: we either “embody the stereotype” of the rural working class or “abdicate” our roots.  What else was I supposed to do? Now, I sometimes wonder if I chose wrong.

Maybe you won’t believe me. Maybe, to you, I’m still nothing. You apparently don’t find it relevant that we’ve landed at the same prestigious university and study in the same program. It surprises me that it was actually here, at this place I wasn’t sure I belonged, where you seem to be certain that I don’t, that I learned about working-class studies. It was the first time I identified the crossroads where I exist. Alfred Lubrano describes it as being “two people.” Sandra Dahlberg calls it a “dual existence.” Renny Christopher listens to Bruce Springsteen and wonders, if we are born to run, where do we run to? Christopher points out that “when Jefferson wrote ‘All men are created equal,’ it was not my ancestors he had in mind. And I can never get very far from that fact” (my emphasis). Look these people up. Lubrano is an award-winning journalist. Dahlberg is a professor.  Christopher is a Vice-Chancellor. Whatever you hope to be one day, they’ve already done it.

Another scholar in this field, Allison L. Hurst writes that, even if most of us no longer believe in meritocracy (a key part of the American Dream), we still act as if it’s true. This isn’t on purpose. Even when we’re starving, we can get full on the hope that hard work will pull us into something better—even when it still leaves us hungry. Even when we know better. I thought I’d feel like I obtained the Dream once I got my associate degree. Then I thought it would come when I got my bachelor’s, and now the hope has been kicked down to my master’s. And with that degree in sight, I’ve started imagining the inevitable happiness I will feel upon earning my PhD. Success is always in the future. It’s always the thing I am reaching towards. And the further I move in that direction, the more I feel myself moving away from where I came from.

Working-class academics don’t just battle the class ceiling. As you move up, so does the floor. The ceiling does not move. You earn enough degrees until you’re smushed like a specimen under a microscope. You feel exposed, scrutinized, but you can also see in both directions—and you find that you’re not welcome to move either way. Maybe that’s what Lubrano means by limbo. That’s where I have been. It’s where I was when your terrible voice came booming in — flattened between two panes that I can’t help but feel responsible for. But then I reflect on what was not in my control.

If I could bottle up a smell for you, it would be this: mac and cheese burning on the stove, as one child cooks for another, combined with the grease on my mother when she comes home long after dark. I was the parent to my younger brother after our dad passed. Mom had to work twice as much as before, and we couldn’t afford to hire help or send us to any after-school care.  Things would have been so different for all of us if we had half the privilege you do, and we wouldn’t have taken it for granted.

Do you hear me, [REDACTED]? What did you do after school? I raised a kid. I grieved and cooked and worked and read and wrote and studied. I have been laying bricks with my bare hands for 24 years; I built the entire path I walked to get here. I didn’t deserve to hear you talk like I didn’t exist, like all the people like me didn’t exist—or if we did, we didn’t matter. I didn’t deserve to hear silence from my friends. That moment made me sad, but I’m working to turn that sadness into anger. I want to use anger like fuel, like the gasoline that stained my mom’s hands after a day working at the garage.

But even with that fuel, with these degrees, with this letter, you will still exist. So many people like you will. I can’t always be mad. The thing that scares me most after all my work is how quickly the words of some privileged jerk can erase me. You spoke me out of existence, and everyone else allowed it to happen. My colleagues let it happen. And I can never get very far from that fact.

Rin Baker

Rin Baker is a first-generation graduate student with degrees in English and Educational Studies. Her work focuses on working-class experiences in U.S. higher education, with emphasis on students with rural backgrounds. 

This entry was posted in Class and Education, Contributors, Guest Bloggers, Issues, Understanding Class and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How Their Silence Diminishes Us

  1. Daniel P. says:

    Hi Rin,

    This was an interesting perspective to hear, thank you for sharing.

    It’s a little bit concerning, though. It seems to start with a feeling of helpless frustration / rage prompted by an arrogant elitist at a random social event, then ends with a feeling of helpless frustration / rage, but you’ve gone into an arrogance of your own about your accomplishments in the face of the adversities you’ve had to overcome in your life. Are you doing okay? It seems like you have a lot of childhood trauma you still need to work through?

    It seems to come full-circle in this narrative. You were upset at a lack of empathy, then engage in the same lack of empathy towards this person that you feel had slighted you, as you rant about how much you’ve experienced and done in your life and how you deserve better treatment than this. What sets you apart from this arrogant elitist in terms of behavior? Sure, he’s an elitist snob, and you’re a working class wallflower, but it seems like you have the same arrogance at heart underneath, you just hide it better than he does. You both think you’re better than the other person and deserve the environment you find yourselves in. How do you know he didn’t also go through personal adversity? You mention how there’s multiple ways to starve. Many people starve emotionally, growing up in homes without loving care, perhaps this narcissist did. Clearly, he was begging for attention with his words and actions. Ignoring him did seem like a fitting punishment, in my opinion. Some people love confrontation because it’s attention of any kind. He seems that type.

    I sympathize with a lot of the life experiences you’ve gone through, and I’m sorry you had to go through all of that. But this seems like a hypocritical rant, and it seems like a personal problem that you really need to move past. But it might be hard for you to heal and move past this until you can turn your microscope inwards and do some objective soul-searching, in my opinion.

    In case it matters for my credibility in your eyes, I grew up in a Soviet ghetto, moved to the USA in middle school, and was bullied and belittled many times throughout school due to being different / from a different country / culture. Also lower-income (free school lunches were great), but studied hard to better my life and earn a degree, etc. in the face of adversity. I don’t think adding these qualifications should really be necessary, but some people get a bit arrogant and don’t listen when they think you’re an elitist snob, I guess.

    Anyways, just wanted to offer some constructive criticism; I hope you can work past this. Though I’m used to most people ignoring my attempts to help, so no worries if you want to go that route. Demonizing the people or things that make us uncomfortable seems to be a common thread throughout all of human history.

    Regards,
    Daniel P.

    Like

    • crinbaker says:

      Daniel,

      Thanks for thinking through these issues. I think the answers you might be looking for from me aren’t meant for this blog, as the “traumas” and healing you allude to are personal journeys. For that reason, much of the context is omitted- including context about my long relationship and other interactions with this person. This is not their first time belittling my class; this is why I wanted to share the experience here, as opposed to submitting to an academic journal. Some context is also lost as this is condensed from a longer piece.

      The essence of this post is that my reactions are individual/personal against a man who was classist, a man who dismissed an entire demographic carelessly. My personal reactions are localized, against one person, not his entire class. I hope this clarifies some things for you, especially concerns about a lack of empathy or arrogance (both words that are heavily classed in this piece, as the inciting moment is about dismissing colleges that serve the working-class).

      As for thinking I’ve demonized him for making me uncomfortable, I think that’s a bit of a hyperbole. Working-class people, especially women, are taught to be obedient, humble, and quiet. Allowing myself to be angry is an act of resistance. Anger is not a bad emotion, and this piece is a reflection on that moment- not the story of my life. (See my line “I can’t always be mad”)

      Lastly, you say that people ignore your attempts to help. I’m sorry you feel ignored! I think, moving forward, it might be helpful to review where you are responding to a person’s character rather than a person’s written work. In that capacity, I don’t know if your intentions and effect were entirely aligned. This response in particular had a tone that made me uncomfortable about responding, but I didn’t want you to feel ignored again.

      Rin

      Like

  2. Yes, I agree, it is beautifully written and powerful. I love the image of the floor rising to squash us against the ceiling. And you took the line you quoted from me, then made it your own and repeated it so effectively at the end of the piece that it gave me goose bumps. Thank you for writing and posting this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jerome Krase says:

    Thanks for reminding me how far I’ve come and how much farther there is to go….. if I want to go there… which as I assume you also don’t ….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Allison L. Hurst says:

    This is a beautifully written and powerful – I wish I had this letter in hand to send to countless colleagues over the years. Thank you!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment